moksz Magyar Országos Korcsolyázó Szövetség
Vissza 2017. szeptember 13.

Canadian short track speed skating team named for PyeongChang 2018

The Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Speed Skating Canada (SSC) named the ten athletes and two coaches provisionally selected to represent Team Canada in short track speed skating at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

Skaters were selected following the 2018 Short Track Team Selections held August 12-20, 2017 in Montreal.

On the women’s side, Kim Boutin (Sherbrooke, QC), Jamie Macdonald (Fort St. James, B.C.) and Kasandra Bradette (Saint-Félicien, QC) were the first three to be nominated to their first Games based on the overall Selections standings. Boutin led the way, winning eight of nine races.

On the men’s side, Samuel Girard (Ferland-et-Boilleau, QC), Charles Hamelin (Sainte-Julie, QC) and Charle Cournoyer (Boucherville, QC) were the first three to be nominated following Selections. Girard, who also qualified for his first Games, won seven of the nine races to finish first in the standings. Four-time Olympic medallist Hamelin finished second at Selections to earn a spot at his fourth Games while Sochi 2014 bronze medallist Cournoyer finished third in the overall Selections standings.

The final positions were granted to François Hamelin (Sainte-Julie, QC) and Marianne St-Gelais (Saint-Félicien, QC) following an examination of bye requests, while Pascal Dion (Montreal, QC) and Valérie Maltais (Saguenay [La Baie], QC) were awarded spots as discretionary choices.

Frédéric Blackburn (Saguenay, QC) and Derrick Campbell (Cambridge, ON) were named head coaches of the women’s and men’s teams, respectively.

Ice Cube Seat